Home > Staff > Registrars


Master of Medicine (MMed) in Psychiatry

A four-year specialist training programme is offered for registrars appointed to clinical posts with the Department of Health. From 2018, candidates are required to write the FCPsych(SA) Part I examination offered by the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA).

In addition, all candidates must pass the FCPsych(SA) Part II examination and complete an MMed research dissertation. The documentation required in applying for the post of registrar with the Psychiatry department can be found here. 

Please contact Dr Nyameka Dyakalashe or Ms Vuyo Mafanya for additional information.

Current Registrars:

Ilhaam Adams MBChB UCT, DMH(SA)

Rosalind Adlard MBChB UCT

Idorenyin Akpabio MBChB Pret, DMH(SA)

Gill Booysen MBChB Wits, DMH(SA)


Keagan Clay MBChB UCT

Jeanri Combrinck MBChB UFS

Charles Crookes MBBCh Wits

Fatima Dangor MBChB KZN

Dipika Haripersad MBChB KZN

Mzamo Jakavula MBChB KZN

Jeannere Jordaan MBChB Stell

Betty Kadenge MBChB Limpopo 

Mpho Mahlakametsa MBChB UCT, DMH(SA)

Tinashe Mangozho MBChB UCT

Gaopalelwe Motswiri MBChB Limpopo

Saf Nadvi MBChB UCT

Bailee Romburgh MBChB UCT, DMH(SA)

Haseena Sablay MBChB Stell, DipHIV(SA), DMH(SA)

EJ Smith MBChB Stell, DMH(SA), Dip Psychotherapy(UCT)

Inette Swart MBChB Wits, DMH(SA)

Michelle Swartz MBChB Stell, DMH(SA)

Imraan Tayob MBChB KZN

Thumeka Tonjeni MBChB WSU, DMH(SA)

Bongi Tyhala MBChB Stell

Jasper Van Zyl MBChB Stell, DMH(SA)

Elizabeth Vogts MBChB Stell

Allanah Wilson MBChB UCT

Alex Zumazuma MBBS Mw