Home > Divisions > Psychotherapy


History of the Division
The Division of Psychotherapy started with a focus on the development of a Post-Graduate Diploma in Psychotherapy. A psychotherapy reading group, consisting of clinicians (psychologists and psychiatrists) interested in psychotherapy teaching and training contributed to the development of the curricula for the PGDip in Psychotherapy. Louise Frenkel, Ereshia Benjamin and Dr. Adele Marais were all founding members of the Division, and remain active in the teaching and research agenda of the Division. 

The Division of Psychotherapy is based at Valkenberg Hospital Education Centre, and has a dedicated space for the teaching of the PGDip in Psychotherapy.